What You Mean To Me

With your love as my grace, I knew I could get through
anything with a smile in my heart if not on my face.
When you said you’d love me and never let me go,
I should’ve known you couldn’t keep that promise though.

So
Bring me down into that fire
It can’t hurt like this desire
That you built inside of me
I won’t be caged
Please set me free

I said that I’d be strong,
That I’d move and carry on
but missing you is all I’ve got now you’re gone.
So I cry for you and me
because I cannot let her see
baby what you’ll always mean to me

So
Take me low into that fire
It can’t burn like this desire
That we built in spite of me
I can’t go on
Please set me free

With this life oh so new, I feel time standing still
there’s no day and no night to get through
With this promise of new love and light
I should be happy and not have to fight

I know I’m doing the right thing
Taking chances on a new wing
and putting it all on the line one more time
It’s so painful to see
you so I flee
from what you’ll always mean to me

Don’t let me go,
Don’t set me free
I won’t lose you
or you lose me
If we hold on
To what we mean
when we say
we’re meant to be
So
Now I’m down inside the fire
Frozen stiff without desire
for anyone that I can see
But I will go on
even though I don’t want to be free

And
I will stand on searing pyre
Watching ‘now’ soar ever higher
with hope for reality
remembering
cherishing
hiding and holding
baby, what you’ll always mean to me

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment